Contact Information: Monica Carmichael, Director of Development
Phone: 205-322-5326 ext. 416

Cahaba River Society announces 2016 Board members

Cahaba River Society is pleased to announce that Jeet Radia, Min Lee, and Helen Todd have been elected to our Board of Directors for 2016-2018 terms. More information is below and attached. Board members that have been re-elected are also listed below. The 2016 list of CRS Board members and officers is also attached.

Cahaba River Society continues to build a highly effective Board of Directors that reflects the various perspectives and stakeholders for the Cahaba River and our region's drinking water and brings valuable skills and expertise to our mission. 

New Board members, 2016-18:

Jeet Radia, P.E., CIH, Senior Vice President of Environment, Safety and Human Resources, McWane, Inc.

Jeet Radia has been with McWane, Inc. since 2003.  He has more than 30 years of technical and management experience in assisting industrial manufacturing firms with a wide range of environmental, health and safety and sustainability issues. He brings particular expertise on environmental and sustainability concerns related to metal casting operations and processes.  Before joining McWane, Mr. Radia was a consultant providing senior level technical and regulatory assistance to industrial clients on a variety of environmental, health and safety issues.  He is a registered professional engineer and a Certified Industrial Hygienist.

As a recognized expert in the environmental area, Mr. Radia is a frequent speaker at national, state and local conferences, seminars and training courses on environmental issues.  He is Chairman of the Air Quality Committee of the American Foundry Society and serves on the board of the US Green Building Council’s Alabama Chapter.

Min Sun Lee, Associate Professor of Art-Graphic Design & Program Director, University of Montevallo

Lee embraces her unique combination of Korean and Western culture in her design. She is interested in the research and design of unique solutions to problems involving the human experience, social patterns and communication between cultures. She feels that through proper execution, design can serve as a valuable ally to those in need. Min was Cahaba River Society (CRS) Tributary Junior board member for 3 years to support, promote and educate CRS.

Helen Todd, APR. Helen is the Owner of Helen2o: Fluid Communications, a communications consulting and whitewater kayak instruction business started in May of 2012.

Helen has worked in a number of communication leadership roles in many Birmingham companies including, National Director of Communications at HealthSouth, Vice President of Internal Communications at Regions Financial Corp., Public Relations Manager at Southern Living, and Media Specialist at UAB. Her career started in broadcasting with a stint in radio and then in television as a producer at Fox 6.  She has also worked in economic development assisting in locating Mercedes Benz to the state and in the ad agency setting.

Helen is also an avid whitewater enthusiast and holds the following ACA (American Canoe Association) certifications: Level 4 Whitewater Instructor, Level 3 Instructor Trainer, Adaptive Paddling Endorsement and is the current ACA State Director for Alabama.

Board members re-elected:
Neil Davis, President, Davis Architects
Matt Leavell, Director of Design, University of Alabama Center for Economic Development
Bob Shepard, Public Relations Manager, UAB
Thomas Spencer, Senior Research Associate, Public Affairs Research Council of Alabama
Troy Wallwork, President, Dataperk, LLC

The Cahaba River Society works to restore and protect the Cahaba River watershed and its rich diversity of life. The Cahaba is the main drinking water source for the Birmingham Water Works Board, which serves about one-fifth of Alabama residents. The Cahaba has more species of fish per mile than any other river in North America and is considered to be nationally and globally significant for freshwater biodiversity by conservation groups such as The Nature Conservancy and The World Wildlife Fund.